PDA

View Full Version : John Deere F687

bayfish
03-06-2004, 09:23 PM
Considering a zero turn frontmount to team up with my Hustler Z. I've looked at the Grasshopper and it looks like a ggod mower. I noticed the F687 on the JD website and would like to hear any comments about it.

GreenMonster
03-06-2004, 09:30 PM
I considered both this year as well. I wasn't able to see J.D. up close and personal, but it kinda has a homeowner sort of look to it. I definately was not going to buy it without being able to sit on, touch, feel, cut grass, etc.

I'm taking delivery next week on a Grasshopper 725A. They're built like a tank, and Grasshopper has been making front mounts forever. Plus, it has more available attachments than just about anyone. I'm new to the lawn care side this year, but my research told me Grasshopper was the way to go for a front mount, especially if you're looking for the versatility to collect, s/d, and mulch with the same machine.

bayfish
03-07-2004, 08:23 PM
A friend of mine in the business has 3 Grasshoppers and two have over 1000 hours and run good. He claims that the bagging unit is second to none. Since the JD687 is not mentioned on this site probably is a good indication of it's quality in the commercial world. For a zero turn frontmount, Grasshopper sounds like the way to go.

MikesLawnServiceLLC
03-09-2004, 09:09 AM