PDA

View Full Version : Pricing Athletic fields in PA

Puttinggreens
03-06-2004, 10:15 PM
I am currently bidding on 11 acres of private high school athletic fields. From my golf course background I have plenty of experience with the required apps. and work involved. Cushman mounted boom sprayer and Vicon spreader on a Kubota. My inexperience is in pricing larger apps. I believe I'm only bidding against one large company who has been servicing this customer so long they feel they can charge anything. I found out one or two of his very high prices. I'd like some input on prices, I want to be fair but make $ at the same time.

1. 6 soil tests @ $25 each (has not been done in last 3 years)

2. Lime app.
Has not been done in at least 3 years. Around here that means a recommendation of 50#/M will be on the soil test report. That is doable but requires a lot of time. It is close to 10 pallets at 50#/M.

3. Aerate with pluggers on tractors and seed. April 1st.
Is $15 to 20/M + cost of seed to high for 11 Acres. Local golf courses are paying about $15 on fairways but that closer to 25 or 30 acres plus additional business throughout the year on greens.

4. Fert + .13% Dimension
I've seen anywere from $4/M to $7/M. Any ideas?

5. May 30th - 0-0-7 + Merit
Apply on the 5 irrigated areas with a history of grubs. Cost for materials about $650. Charge $3.50/m + materials?

6. Mid June - Slow fert app.
$3-4/M Not sure which way to lean.

7. Late Aug. / early Sept. - Slow fert app.

8. Nov. 1st - Aerate and seed.
I know this is late but their tight fall schedule won't let me in any earlier. This 2x per year is standard at this school and should not be an obstacle. Again, what price is reasonable.

9. Early Nov. quick release fert.

$3-4/M?