PDA

View Full Version : How do the inexperienced make accurate estimates?

billc
03-07-2004, 08:25 PM
I'm just starting out, and need to know how to make accurate estimates, so I'm asking you vets to reach back into your memories and let me know how you started.

A landscaper I respect tells the homeowner he'll cut the property once for a certain rate/price. Then he'll give an estimate for the customer to consider.

Other landscapers say they give free estimates.

I'm leaning toward the first because it seems otherwise my estimates will be a shot in the dark until I gain experience.

Any ideas?

Shuter
03-07-2004, 08:31 PM
One of the best ways to learn, is from mistakes made. Don't sweat it too much if you make mistakes as you go, everyone does. If you are just starting out, it is wise to find out what prices your market area will bear. You don't always want to be the most expensive or the least expensive.

Example is: if a your market area is $30.00 per cut for mowing, there is no reason to bid $25.00 to get the job, when the customer would be ready to pay $30.00. Don't lose money by under cutting yourself.

alpine692003
03-07-2004, 08:57 PM
be like me and learn everything on the job training.

I bid everything

CNE
03-07-2004, 09:01 PM