PDA

View Full Version : Cab-Overs on the Road

dbear
03-13-2004, 08:16 PM
Hello all. I'm not a lawn pro, nor am I a scab (the only lawn I mow is my own), but I have a great respect for what you all do, and for your knowledge. That said, I hope somebody can answer a couple of questions for me.

I know that CO's handle well around town, but what about over the road? I'm not talking mega miles like a semi, but maybe 100 miles of expressway driving a day, an few days per week. Are they able to handle 65+ MPH without shaking themselves apart, and if so, which makes & models, and what engine-tranny-ratio combination? Looking for probably a class 3-4 truck capable of handling a 12'-16' van body.

Thanks...

Mr DanO
03-13-2004, 08:34 PM
dbear, I've been an over the road truck driver for 25 years. I ran from minnesota to the east coast for 21 of those years. The straight trucks you are talking about are more than capable of the mialage your talking about. Look at all the delivery trucks in your area most are cabovers. as for makes thats apersonable choice

specialtylc
03-13-2004, 11:36 PM
I have a Isuzu NPRHD crew cab cabover. Drives really well. Had it 2.5 years now with zero problems. It has the 4 cylinder diesel. Top speed is 72 mph. They aint no powerhouse but its a really good around town truck. Also fuel milage is about 12.5 mpg. Isuzu and Mitsubishi dont have any options as far as axle ratios, tranys, or engine.

pottstim
03-14-2004, 02:36 PM