PDA

View Full Version : Lawn Rennovation???

lovdasnow
03-18-2004, 03:38 AM
Hi, I was looking for any advice about lawn rennovation? I live in Oregon, and have a few lawns that have a lot of different kinds of grass, and wanted to start over. I just want the ryegrass. (the lawns are about 10-15yrs old) So, I was planning on spraying with Round-up, let die for about 4 weeks, so I make sure that nothing else will be growing(bad grass). Then use a sod stripper to take up the old grass, then bring some top soil, rake it out, and spread seed.
I was a little concerned about the other grasses coming back.
So any advice/ tips would be greatly appreciated. I have never used a sod stripper before, is it very slow?
ok thanks...Jon

joshua
03-18-2004, 04:51 AM
save yourself some time, round-up if you want you don't need to, just sod cut it, remove sod, topsoil where needed and your ready to seed. yes sod cutters move somewhat slow.

hole in one lco
03-18-2004, 05:01 AM
If you are going to use a sod cutter you don't have to kill the grass,you will find it easier to roll the sod up .

1 soil test
2 cut sod out
3 rototill and level
4 bring in top soil for top dressing
5 seed and fert
6 cover with straw, pen mulch, or pet moss
7 water every day water every day water water

The healthier the lawn the less weeds you will have

Old Red
03-18-2004, 05:33 AM
How slow is a sod cutter? I'm sure there's variation as there are different cutters, different sods however I've never used one and am curious. On average how long do you think it would take to strip a thousand square feet?

lovdasnow
03-18-2004, 11:37 AM
thanks for taking the time to answer my ???. I aprpreciate it! Also, do you think that by not killing the grass before stripping the sod, that it would leave roots of crappy grass? That is my only concern, I really don't want the old grass coming up. Also, couldn't I get away with not rotertilling up the old lawn, if I brought in an inch or two of new soil?
THanks a lot....Jon