PDA

View Full Version : Trimmer Q&A

Zito
03-18-2004, 04:54 PM
I learned of LawnSite through a friend and I'm thrilled to see all this info. I've spent the better part of a week reading through all the old stuff, and I have learned a ton. This is to be my first season in the lawn business, and I just got a 36" Ferris hydro, and I hope to purchase a Grasshopper from the old guy next door when he retires at the end of this year. I have searched, but can't find a specific answer to my question, which is this: I can get an Echo SRM 260s for $299 or a Shindaiwa T231 for the same price. Which is the better deal? Thanks, and I look forward to learning more from you landscaping vetrans.

Flipperneck
03-18-2004, 05:00 PM
I'd go with echo, but I've never used shindaiwia anything before.
I like echo and redmax string trimmers, redmax backpacks, husquvarna chainsaws, echo hedge trimmers, little wonder push blowers, scag and exmark mowers.

workaholic
03-18-2004, 09:02 PM
Shindaiwa or stihl is the only way to go. we have used echo and was not happy with that product, did not last long at all....

metro-hp_48
03-18-2004, 09:08 PM
Welcome zito! I only buy Shind. (until they give me a reason not to) but never held an Echo, so can't comment on that.

Del9175
03-18-2004, 09:08 PM
I currently use Echo, but am planning on switching to something else. Probably shindiawa. I am pretty unsatisfied with my last Echo purchase. Since the day it was brand new, it has taken an average of three pulls to get it running. Sometimes less sometimes more. Ususally five or six when its cold.

lawncare3
03-18-2004, 09:24 PM
Shindaiwa t-230 I have had one for a while and it's great. You can't go wrong with shindy.

gravedigger5
03-18-2004, 09:28 PM
I have a echo 2100 and a Shindawia 261, not a great comparrison but I prefer the shin. Only reason I keep the Echo is cause its a split boom with several attachments. If I would have to buy new I would go with the shin. JMHO Marc

Tharrell