PDA

View Full Version : What should I do?

swim
03-18-2004, 08:59 PM
I have been cutting this lawn for 5 or 6 years. Met and talked to the guy that does the lawn across the street. He seems very nice and like a good guy. Last fall the guy that owns the property in question comes over to me to ask me to cut his lawn 1 last time for the year. He says that he has called the other guy, but he did not return the call or come by for the last cut. I told him sure. I did it for the same price as the regular guy. I told him that I am not interested in trying to get the lawn, but if he needs anything over the winter give me a call.

The other day he calls and asks me to cut his lawn this year. I ask what about the other guy. He says that he is not very dependable and he has to call him most of the time to get him to come over. I said well I guess but don't want to take the nice guys lawn. He said well I contacted you anyway. I said OK do you want me to come measure it or charge the same as the last guy. He says the same is fine with him. So I said OK I'll see you in a couple days. Also the other guy does other lawns on the street and I will see him every week.

Did I do the right thing or am I sticking it to the other guy who was nice to me?

dvmcmrhp52
03-18-2004, 09:05 PM
The customer came to you,didn't like his previous service apparently,and now you have a new customer.

I don't see any thing underhanded about it.

metro-hp_48
03-18-2004, 09:11 PM
Dang Swim, the only prop. I do in Franklin, and your trying to snatch it up.
(J/K......has to be a joke, cause he wouldn't have to call and remind me. Always on time.)
Go for it. Let the customer decide. Seems like he did, and chose you. Cut it guilt free.

Premo Services
03-18-2004, 09:13 PM
Originally posted by dvmcmrhp52
The customer came to you,didn't like his previous service apparently,and now you have a new customer.

I don't see any thing underhanded about it.

I agree, the customer came to you.