PDA

View Full Version : 2000-2004 GM Pick-Up Recall

niceguy
03-19-2004, 07:53 PM
I read this in todays Newspaper:
GM is recalling 4 million pick-ups worldwide. Models are the 00-04 chevy silverado, GMC Siera's built between Oct 99 and Oct. 03. Also a limited amout of Escalades and Avalanches are included.
The reason for the recall is the cable that holds the tailgate in place when the tailgate is open can corrode or fracture. There has been 134 minor injuries. If you have one of these vehicles, You will recieve notification in phases. In the meantime. Do not put a direct load on the tailgate. They will replace the cables w/ stailess steel cables.

CNE
03-21-2004, 06:10 PM
I've seen them break but haven't heard of the recall yet. I'm a GM technician full time and part time LCO. I don't see how you could get injured by it. The tailgate would stop when it hits the bumper which is only a couple of inches lower than the strap stop.

Grassmechanic
03-22-2004, 06:56 AM
They were falling off and hitting the vehicles behind them. I also read about the recall, and saw it on the news.

logjammer
03-22-2004, 12:59 PM
I had mine break already. I heard it coming, so I took weight off of it before it hurt the tailgate. My friend had his break and he wasn't so lucky. He was taking out his mountain bike and it broke while he was on the tail gate. He fell off and dislocated his shoulder. GM gave him two new ones and said you must of nicked them. They need to bring the old style straps back that were on older trucks.

Jeff

CNE
04-04-2004, 04:27 PM
Originally posted by Grassmechanic
They were falling off and hitting the vehicles behind them. I also read about the recall, and saw it on the news.

Well now you shouldn't ride down the road with the gate open in the first place now should you?

pottstim
04-04-2004, 05:28 PM
Originally posted by logjammer
They need to bring the old style straps back that were on older trucks.

Jeff