PDA

View Full Version : please help!!!!!

bfnc2003
03-23-2004, 10:51 PM
I was in the lawn care and landscaping biz for 4yrs. I worked as a lead man for a buddy of mine. I ended up moving away for 4yrs and now I am back in town. I ve bought a home and plan on staying in this area. I have done just about everything there is to do in the business (labor wise) just I dont have the experience bidding and pricing jobs. Right now I Have 5 yards a week that I mow on Saturday I start at 9:00 and am finished by 12:30 I make an extra 200 bucks. I want to get bigger but my current full time job will not allow me to do so. My phone rings constantly but I am turning down work. I also pick up alot of handyman work for elderly people from time to time. Someone just please tell me to go for it so I will get off my A$$ and do something!!! My problem is I am scared to turn my current job a loose because of the benefit package we have. I am 25 yrs old. and have a 8 yr old daughter whom I have custody of. Is the risk worth taking????
Thanks
BRad

NickN
03-23-2004, 10:57 PM
Your kid comes first.Don't dive in when you have a little one depending on you.
If you're finishing by 12:30,you can take on alot more work for Saturday.Why not 400 to 500 on Saturday?When you start making what you are at your full time job AND can provide your family with health care AND make enough in the winter,THEN go full time.

Randy Scott
03-23-2004, 11:55 PM
Originally posted by NickN
When you start making what you are at your full time job AND can provide your family with health care AND make enough in the winter,THEN go full time.

And how do you propose he does that while working a full-time job? Should he crap another 24 hours for each day.