PDA

View Full Version : Extreme newbie here!

CBus
03-28-2004, 03:47 AM
My buddy and I just got our tax refunds back, got wild hairs up our you-know-whats, and decided to start a lawn care business. I've been in retail management for the past 5 years, so I think I'm good as far as bookkeeping, etc. If some of you could answer some questions I have, that'd be great.

A little info on what we've decided to do, first. We already have a truck, and we've decided not to buy any riding mowers yet. It's just the two of us, so we're buying two push mowers, two string trimmers, and an edger. We're gonna float out some business cards, print some flyers, knock on a few doors, and see what happens.

Now, my questions:

1. We're having a heck of a time thinking of a name. We're both named Mike, so we were just going to call it Mike & Mike's, but that sounds kind of two-bit/unproffessional IMO. Maybe if some of you could tell me how you came up with your names, that'd be extremely helpful.

2. Is there any equipment that we're REALLY going to need at first that I haven't thought of?

3. It's too late, my mind has gone blank. I can't think of 1 of the hundreds of other questions I thought of earlier. :confused:

goodbeus
03-28-2004, 08:03 AM
You've already made a few mistakes imo...first, you'll need a blower...second, partners is a bad thing...third, you have no real foundation for lawn care...I see countless guys get the same wild hair and do the same thing you are...spend a lot of money, then for whatever reason(it's to hot, the work is to hard, profit margin not as high as expected), they get out..sell their equipment at a loss...go work for someone for 6 months and then you'll know if this is what you want to do...

grass_cuttin_fool
03-28-2004, 08:06 AM
Be sure to get insurance and get a buisness liscense also

FFMED74
03-28-2004, 10:19 AM