PDA

View Full Version : Planting Trees?

BASIC
05-05-2004, 11:36 AM
Hi,I'm in northwesten N.J.,Zone 5 and I need to plant trees on a property,I've never done this before.Whats the best time of year to plant?Do I have to prep the soil or just dig a hole,plant,water and pray?I'd like to use seedlings as there are a number of trees that I have to plant,any sources for buying seedlings?Any suggestions,thanks,BASIC.

NNJLandman
05-05-2004, 11:58 PM
Right now you can plant shrubs, trees, a week or two more annuals and what not, but yes you can plant trees now, in fact I have already planted a few myself. Dig a hole a little bigger then the tree ball, take the wireing off the tree ball if there is any, don't cut the string off the burlap, everything will basically decompose over time, the roots will grow through the burlap, add peat moss to the soil around the tree, then backfill, take the hose with out the nosel and let it run as if you were gonna drink out of it around the base of the tree for a little while. As for seedlings...are you talking maybe about like graphed plants? I know of a guy in our area, I'll look for his information.

Jeff

BASIC
05-06-2004, 08:09 AM
Jeff,thanks for your response.I saw a catalog a while ago from a company in PA.(Mosler Trees,I think)that sold seedlings,both with soil and bare root.I have a lot of area to coverso I'm looking for the most economical way to do it.What about fertilizer?Any suggestions on what spices work best in zone 5?I'm not looking for ornamental trees but native spices to the area.Thanks,BASIC.

DJL
05-06-2004, 09:22 AM
I would caution you on what the previous poster suggested. Peat Moss is acidic. If the plant you are planting does not like acidic soil and you are adding Peat Moss that could be a big no-no. If you want to get into soil amendments you should really have a soil test performed. Knowing what your soil pH is could help you decide what trees will fit there without having to amend your soil.