PDA

View Full Version : Advice on Toro v Exmark deal

jsandy
05-08-2004, 06:14 PM
First, I am not a professional but a home owner with a little more than 2 level acres to mow. I've lurked here for a while and would like whatever input any one can give.
I have been shopping for a ztr mower and have the following quotes from two competing local dealers. A) Toro Z500, 27 KOH, 60" deck and DFS vac system B) Exmark LazerZ efi, 28 KOH efi, 60" deck and UltraVac QDS. Neither dealer knew I was talking to the other (separate towns 15 mi apart) Both quoted me $10.5k. Frankly I'm stumped. I've dealt with the Toro dealer before and have always had good service. I've never dealt with the exmark dealer before but he has a good reputation. Bagging systems aside, the exmark seems like a better deal if there is any real bevefit of "efi". (The toro dealer had some reservations about the KOH efi when I inquired about a Toro with the same engine sitting on his lot...was I being "steered" or are there real issues?)
I liked the DFS Vac system (although it did seem very heavy and bulky) but haven't found much written on it here on lawnsite.com. My seat of the pants evaluation has the machines dead even but
my gut tells me that the efi "intangibles" (if real) ought to out weigh a bagging system. I know that both of these machines are more than I need (but not more than I want <g>). My last lawn tractor lasted me 17 years so resale value doesn't affect the decision much. I know that Toro owns exmark. Can the Toro's DFS Vac be attached to the Exmark? Am I missing something or is this really just a coin flip? Sorry this is so long. Thanks for any advice.

John:D

fixer67
05-08-2004, 07:54 PM