View Full Version : That isn't 10 yds...

05-22-2004, 12:24 AM
Alright today I was delivering top soil for my boss, I don't have my cdl yet so me and another kid were running two of the mason....we put 5 yards in each truck(give or take a shovel full) but now the lady calls and is complaining that they didn't get their full 10 yds. Anyone have an idea of how to figure out how much they really got....they already spread it out.



05-22-2004, 12:52 AM
if its paid for its too late, guess theyll have to buy more


05-22-2004, 06:35 AM
measure the area that the mulch was spread in to. it's always "approximate" with mulch anyway.

05-22-2004, 05:51 PM
Simple math..................
length times width times depth...................

05-22-2004, 05:54 PM
Originally posted by dvmcmrhp52
Simple math..................
length times width times depth...................

Ya sure, as long as it's a consistent depth.

Hope you got the loot before you dumped the load.

05-22-2004, 06:50 PM
Topsoil is deceiving because it packs down. You always need more than you would think.

05-23-2004, 02:02 PM
aren't mason trucks 3 yard capacity? If so, how did you get 5 yds into a three yd truck?

05-23-2004, 07:12 PM
we have tall sides on it....it was overloaded, i have a pic of the truck but i can't get it resized correctly.


06-08-2004, 10:17 PM
Wow you were probley over weight, my F-350 is begging for mercey with 3 yards of dirt. I would not give an inch to that customer as long as you truthfuly gave them 10 yards. Try to educate them on dirt...What KenH says is so true it just dosnt go as far as most people think.

Field General
06-13-2004, 07:48 AM
I buy my prosessed topsoil by the ton...I expain it to my customers in terms I think they can identify with. One ton of processed top soil is five "full" wheelborrow loads. Each wheelborrow has 25 shovels in it. SO 125shovels full equals one ton of topsoil. This usually helps them understand. One ton of soil isnt as much dirt as one seems to think. Believe me I have shoveled lots of dirt.

06-13-2004, 11:54 PM
Does'nt a ton of soil change with moisture content? Yards should stay fairly consistant. said fairly cause not all people load the bucket exactly the same. :)

06-14-2004, 10:40 AM
When I calculate my needs for loam I will multiply by 120% because of compaction. Alot of times i stil will need more. Everytime loam is handled it gets more aerated. If you spread 4 " of loam it may pack down to only 2" depending on it's density. So places I buy from are a bit stingy with their loaders so you really have to add in extra but charge accordingly.