PDA

View Full Version : Balancing Question

Fareway Lawncare
05-24-2004, 10:16 PM
Hello Magnamatic!

I'm no physics eXpert so mabe you can help me out here....The blades in this pic are not fiXed to the disc hence the plastic clamps...Now if I were take off that black clamp on the bottom blade and affix it to the other side of the blade on top so there was a clamp of equal weight on both sides of that blade could I balance this configuration accurately or is the top blade going to cause too much disruption?....I Know there's Too Much Caked Grass but this is just a hypothetical for now...

Also there's a zerk on the 8000 that's not mentioned in the manual...when to grease?

Doc Pete
05-24-2004, 10:40 PM
Originally posted by Fareway Lawncare
Hello Magnamatic!

I'm no physics eXpert so mabe you can help me out here....The blades in this pic are not fiXed to the disc hence the plastic clamps...Now if I were take off that black clamp on the bottom blade and affix it to the other side of the blade on top so there was a clamp of equal weight on both sides of that blade could I balance this configuration accurately or is the top blade going to cause too much disruption?....I Know there's Too Much Caked Grass but this is just a hypothetical for now...

Also there's a zerk on the 8000 that's not mentioned in the manual...when to grease?

NO, No and No. You cannot balance the 4 blades with all blades on. You can balance each set of two though, separately.
Unless the "center of mass" (C.G.) of each blade runs directly though the center of each blade, and the hole for each blade is exactly though this same center, you cannot blade the system as a whole. Furthermore, each blade must be exactly 90 degress apart from each other, or again it will not balance correct.
DP

HayBay
05-28-2004, 01:31 PM
I thought I read somewhere here that you shouldn't remove the blades from the Meg-Mo setup as the nuts are held on with Loc-Tite. It was mentioned to sharpen all as one.