PDA

View Full Version : 2004 Silverado 3500 Max Weight

handydog
05-25-2004, 08:08 AM
I just bought a 2004 Silverado 3500 with dual rear wheels and a dump body, with a posted GVW of 12,000 lbs. My question is: how much can I weight it down with breaking it or abusing it too much? Here in NC we can weigh whatever the license tag permits. One dealer told me 18,000 lbs would be a practical limit, while another one recommended a max of 15,000 lbs. I'm a newbie, have never had anything larger than a small pickup, and would appreciate any answers and advice you can give.

Gravel Rat
05-25-2004, 02:43 PM
What do you mean ?

As for payload wise I would say 6000lbs would be the max payload you would want to put in a 1 ton truck so that would mean 3 yards of gravel. Grossing a 3500s gvw anymore than 14,000lbs isn't too good you will run out of braking power you will also run out of tire capacity.

I assume the truck has LT225/75R-16 so your rear tire capacity is 9880 if your running E rated rubber its down to 8600lbs with D rated rubber.

Say your running D rated rubber all around you have a tire capacity of 13,278 so you really can't gross your weight more than that. If start exceeding tire capacity then you run the risk of blow outs.

handydog
05-26-2004, 07:49 PM
Thanks for your reply and the info Gravel Rat. To clarify my question, my 3500 (with a steel dump bed and wood sides) weighs 9,000 lbs empty, and I have E rated tires. I realize that any weight over the 12,000 GVW wt posted on the door frame is "technically" overweight. But I know people routinely drive around safely at weights above that. My problem is determining what max gross wt I should observe. Is it the 14,000 lbs you recommend, the 15,000 lbs one chevy dealer recommended, or the 18,000 lbs a 2nd Chevy dealer recommended??

Gravel Rat
05-27-2004, 03:34 AM
To be safe why bust the truck overloading it are you making big money for overloading the truck ?