PDA

View Full Version : Insurance revisited

Foster
12-12-2000, 02:05 PM
Howdy, I have been spraying pastures and fields for two years now off of my atv unit. I have been spraying trees and shrubs for the past five years. This year(or should I say next spring)I recieved the bid to do a landscape job at a new motel going up in my area. I need 1,000,000 general body and property liability insurance. Do you think I can find insurance. So far , I have been turned down by CNA, Hartford, American Family and numerous companies that are handled by independant insurance agents. The only company the would consider me (and I don't know their name)wanted $5,000 minimum. As soon as I say that I do pesticide applications, their eyes start to roll. Or, they turn me down because it isn't my full time job, or because my gross is too small. I'm running out if ideas. Do I lie and say that I just do landscaping and nothing else? I have seen in past threads that 'you guys' are getting insurance for $400 and up and I'm just shaking my head here. What am I missing? Foster

Ocutter
12-23-2000, 04:24 AM
Foster- I know what you are going thru. My ins co (The Travelers) is going to raise me 1500.00 just to apply pesticides. I put n a call to Ohio Casualty and they were going to get back to me. They didnt seem scared to take me on. I also thought of lying, but that will only kill you if you get rolled up on by the pest. patrol or injury occurs to Little Johnny because he entered the site when he should not have.

Foster
12-26-2000, 12:11 PM
Thanks for the reply ocutter. I found a comany - Heritage - that has a biz-pac plan. They didn't seem concerned in the least bit that I spray. $450 got me 1 mil insurance, plus some other stuff... Can't tell you what I went thru to find insurance!

Turfdoctor
01-03-2001, 12:22 AM