View Full Version : Scag Stripes

06-14-2004, 08:32 AM
Hi, This is one of my customers lawns and its the only one I can get stripes in. Im running a Scag 61" hydro WB,with mulching blades and a single wheel velke as you can tell. I drive by and see peoples yards perfect just perfect, but I dont know where Im going wrong. Now Fescue Farmers lawns, theres a big difference.
I wouldnt even want to step foot in that grass because it looks so perfect. http://lawnsite.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=74678
If anyone uses Scag mowers and gets stripes please put them on here because, I would like to see them. By the way does anyone use scags new tiger striper for the ZTRs let me know the feedback on it cause Im thinking about getting one for my Turf Tiger. Thanks

06-14-2004, 09:58 AM
what height are you cutting at? 3-3.75" would be a good start. make sure your deck pitch is set correctly (1/4") lower in the front than the back

scag's aren't my favorite machines to work on but they will stripe as well as any other mower.

06-14-2004, 10:46 AM
Im cutting at 3" and my front is lower than the back. The bolts that hold my deck on are set at mid range(2 1/2-3 3/4)" and Im using 3 spacer on each of my casters. I just bought a turf tiger off eBay this past weekend and getting it sometime this week. I have never demoed one but hey, I could'nt beat the price. I appreciate your help. Thanks

06-15-2004, 02:03 AM
If you don't mind me asking, which one did you get and for how much?

06-15-2004, 05:09 PM
hey cutting edge i will post a few of my pictures sometime soon with scag walkbehinds with the proslide it stripes like zebra...

06-15-2004, 10:36 PM
ALarsh, What do you mean which one did I get? Off eBay?

06-16-2004, 12:37 AM
Originally posted by Cuttingedglwncare
ALarsh, What do you mean which one did I get? Off eBay?

Which model scag did you get and for how much?


06-16-2004, 12:48 AM
I got a Turf Tiger 52" for $1,375. Like I said, I couldnt beat the price. Im a Scag person. You werent bidding on it were you?

06-16-2004, 12:59 AM
Nope, but I was looking at a couple of them.

Green Care
07-02-2004, 10:35 PM
All we run is scags now this is done with 61in dually at 4 and some change.