PDA

View Full Version : Odd Question

BMS
06-14-2004, 04:59 PM
I want to ask a question of those of you in the business. I recently had a very reputable irrigation company come to my house and give me an estimate for installing a complely new system in my front and side yards. I got a very nicely done package with an $1800 plus price tag. A little more than I expected. He has it spelled out as 3 zones, 14 rotors, 10 sprays, valves, controler, (all Hunter equipment) and BFP. I have a private well, 4" with 1-1/4 PVC from the well to the tank in the house basement.

Now, it seems I have access to a rental Ditch Witch plow for no charge. I have much experience with plumbing and electrical work so the actual install/hookup I could do easily. I even maintain the large system at my job so I have some experience installing heads, changing faulty valves, tracing bad wires, etc. What I can't do is what the irrigation guy went to school for and that is figure out which heads and where, how many on a run, proper pipe size, and stuff like that.

Finally my question: Would you guys be offended if a person you did an estimate for, decided to do the install himself, but asked for and is willing to pay for a drawing showing head placement and model, pipe size, and basicly a blueprint of the proposed system? This guy will get all my winterizing business as well if that matters.

I'm not asking for a freeby. I'm willing to pay a reasonable fee for his "consult" work. So tell me guys, how would you react to a request like this?

BMS

greenwayirrigation
06-14-2004, 05:37 PM
some companies will design a system for you for a price.

Mdirrigation
06-14-2004, 07:47 PM
The price is a bit low for my area , I have designed systems for people that wanted to DIY , I get $ 400.00 for a design.

Acute Cut
06-19-2004, 08:38 PM