PDA

View Full Version : Patches of dead grass

HazyDavy
06-16-2004, 11:09 AM
Hello everyone. This is my first post/thread on this forum. I am relatively new to lawn care. I bought a house last July that had been vacant for about 3 years, so the lawn was a mess(weeds, crab grass, big bare spots) when I moved in. Last fall I used round up to kill most of my weeds and crabgrass, then a few weeks later raked it up, put down some topsoil, and seeded several times in the fall. I also began an organic lawn program. I used alfalfa pellets, then in the spring corn gluten mean as a pre-emergent. I must say, early this spring I had a great looking lawn. It was growing like crazy, and VERY GREEN. I did have a weed problem, and reluctantly used a weed killer, but I did have great results. Virtually all of my weeds were killed.

Now to my problem. I live in Raleigh,NC, and this May we had a period of about 4 weeks where it was hot, and we virtually had no rain. I watered heavily once about every 6 or 7 days(deeply and infrequently), but some of my grass started turning brown in patches and eventually died. I did learn(via rain gauges) that my sprinklers weren't putting out as must water as I thought. I would water for an hour, but depending on what sprinkler I used, I was only putting down 1/4-1/2" of water. I have corrected the problem and now put down at least an inch once a week. I'm trying to figure out if my grass died in patches because I didn't put down enough water and/or my grass was still pretty young and the roots may have been fairly shallow, or do I have a grub problem. Over the past few weeks I've noticed LOTS of Japanese Beetles, they've been tearing up my ornamental crabapple tree, and I have just sprayed it, reluctantly with a chemical. I have also read that grub damage generally doesn't appear until august.

I'm sorry for the long post, but I just wanted to get your thoughts on the reason for my brown spots. Thanks!