PDA

View Full Version : weeding price

Josh18
06-17-2004, 06:13 PM
Everyone hates weeding flower beds I'm assuming. Today I had a new customer ask my price for weeding her flower beds. I told her $35/hr. She looked at me like I was crazy and said she would do it herself. SO was my price out of line? I am new at this but I thought I gave her a fair price. What do ya'll charge for this kind of work?

Fishin LCO
06-17-2004, 06:18 PM
I would have told her the same thing you did.

DiscoveryLawn
06-17-2004, 08:57 PM
I never ever give an hourly rate for work. Especially unskilled labor such as pulling weeds. I look at the job and give a dedicated price quote based on my hourly rate but I do not share that rate. Folks just don't understand That $35.00 per man hour has to cover insurance, lisences, trucks, equipment, travel time, litterature, building rent, labor burdon, taxes, hand tools, coffee money etc....
I quote all unskilled labor based on $40.00 per hour and have no problem selling it However, I can imagine getting a lot fewer bids if I quoted everything (or anything) at $40.00 per man hour.

Here's my quote ma'am...
Mowing lawn $40.00 per hour
Pruning shrubs $40.00 per hour
Edging lawn $40.00 per hour
Pulling weeds $40.00 per hour

or

Heres my quote ma'am
Mowing lawn $40.00 per cut
Pruning shrubs $80.00
Edging lawn $15.00 when performed in conjunction with each mowing
Pulling weeds $120.00 each time

David

Josh18
06-17-2004, 09:36 PM
Yeah, I agree with the set price, which I what I would have prefered to do. But, I had no clue as to how long this job would have taken me. I have never weeded an area that big before.

hosejockey2002
06-17-2004, 10:12 PM