PDA

View Full Version : Landscape Architect

Mindless
06-18-2004, 12:18 PM
I'd like to meet with landscape architect to design stone patio/walkway at back of house and stone walkway and stoop at front of house. I live in Manassas, VA. Any recommendations are welcome. Thank you.

AGLA
06-18-2004, 11:40 PM
I would like to ask why you feel like you should limit your search to landscape architects when there are so many talented contractors that have a great deal of expertise in designing this type of work and will also build it for you.

I am a landscape architect that was a contractor long before I became an LA. I can tell you that as a contractor I had several such plans by landscape architects that were great and several that could not be built as designed. I can also say that as contractors we would usually pad the estimate to cover the time that we would might have to waste waiting for inspections, approvals, and input from someone that had never built anything. Often times materials specified were out of catalogs or magazines and were not locally available.

My suggestion is that you find some similar built work in your area on the type of property you have (and of similar value) and find out who did the work. That person. being local, knows what is available, the local regulations, local conditions, and will have a short commute. He will most likely be in your price range if the property is of similar value to yours. You know that you like the look and quality of his work. He also will earn his pay by selling labor and material. Design, while probably not free, is part of his marketing rather than his sole method of making a living.

Or you can get a name of a landscape architect from someone you never met on the internet. Pay him at a rate that covers his wage and all of his overhead (he is not going to make it up by selling a crew's labor and materials). Then you will have to find a contractor to build his design and pay for labor and materials.