PDA

View Full Version : Wall

grassyfras
06-21-2004, 02:50 PM
Im putting in a bid for my first wall for a customer who knows I'm new at all this. I have done smaller walls nothing like this. I checked out the laws and you dont need a permit if its no more then 2' high. Heres the specs: 100'x2' high. Im using Keystones Builder Mini Unit which are 4"hx 18"l. Using keystones chart it says that I need about 400 of these which will make it 6 courses high. These blocks costs 3.30 a peice which turns out to be about $1300. Does that all seem right so far? Then I'm filing in the area thats 4 feet wide to a fence with some 3/4 clean gravel(also using it for backfill) and bringing in topsoil to fill the last foot or so and mulching. The base i'll be using is 3/4 minus. Im going to clear the footing out about 18 inches and fill with the 3/4 minus and use a plate compactor that will put me back about 90 bucks for the day. Im having one other guy help me with this and were splitting everything 50/50 and asking for 25% down. Ill be charginf $4900 for the job and from what others have told me it should take us about 4 days to do working 8 hours. What do you all think. AM I out of my league with pricing and time?

odorisio
06-21-2004, 03:03 PM
recently did a 90 foot wall over here. i was suppose to be jsut helping out a guy, turned out i did all the work he had no clue. so a few pointers. and i am not an expert, but here is some stuff that is still fresh in my head.

1. get a laser transit, WELL WORTH IT. go out there and shoot your grade to figure out how much you will have to excavate, for our site it was a 1 foot drop over 60 foot of length, grade can be decieving.

2. dont forget to put landscape fabric in the trench before you lay your base material.

3. when you lay your first course use a small 1 foot level (torpedeo (spelling)) and level both side to side and front to back as well as in relation to the next course, then ever 5 to 6 feet level the whole course.