PDA

View Full Version : Need help on Dollar Spot

Quail Creek LC
07-18-2004, 07:31 PM
Guys, I have a few yards that are starting to get dollar spot. We have been real wet here all summer. Now the heat is starting to come up along with the humidity. Yes I am a certified commercial applicator and this is my first year. What do most of you do for dollar spot? Any help would be great. Just to let you know, the lawn has not been irragated this year and is just now starting to show stess of low moisture. Sould I have them turn the sprinker system on? Will this promote more of the fungus to grow, or will it help out. I also heard it could be lacking Nitrogen. Should I fert again. Thanks in advance.

turfsurfer
07-18-2004, 08:15 PM
Try to encourage proper watering practices (water deeply and infrequently, only in the morning not the evening.) Fertilize to encourage growth. Minimize turf stress.

jajwrigh
07-18-2004, 10:16 PM
Dollar spot tells you, as the observer, that the yard is experiencing a N deficiency...

Quail Creek LC
07-18-2004, 11:19 PM
I've also read some things that say that it is to high in Nitrogen and some say that I may be lacking Nitrogen. All the research that I have done on this subject has gotten me confused. Thats why I'm asking you experienced guys, cause experience to me is what counts and not what you always read.

turfsurfer
07-18-2004, 11:25 PM
Dollar spot can be worse in lawns low in nitrogen. You want to encourage growth at this point. It can be pretty unsightly but the lawn will recover.

SWD
07-19-2004, 08:00 AM
Fert with high content N content soluable fertilizer - then apply daconil weatherstik or a daconil equivilant. Snap that dollar spot out of the turf with-in three or four days. Deep, infrequent watering is better than no watering at all - so turn on the irrigation system

GroundKprs
07-19-2004, 10:59 AM
SWD, he's a new guy. He doesn't any old jugs of non-restricted Daconil like you and I, LOL.