PDA

View Full Version : Adding a brake controller


BSDeality
07-19-2004, 02:33 PM
currently i run a single axle 3500# 6x10 trailer. however i've added a new 60"Z and need to get a larger trailer. My current tow rig is a dodge ram 1500 with a standard 4pole flat trailer wiring hookup.

I want to add an inertia brake controller when i get my new trailer. I'm not that familiar with electronic trailer brakes, how exactly is it going to hook-up. does this mean i'll have to replace my current trailer harness, or does it mean just adding another set of wires for the brake controller?

jim dailey
07-19-2004, 06:01 PM
I knew a guy with the same situation. He just hooked it form the positive, thru the controller, down the entire length of the Blazer into a seperate connector to the trailer. A definitely good ground is needed to be successful. Stop by a trailer shop in your area and ask some questions. Good luck.

xcopterdoc
07-21-2004, 08:49 PM
to have it all in one connector.. you will need at least a 6 pole connector. If in doubt, have it installed by a professional trailer shop. Have the trailer with you. usually costs about 50 to 70 bucks to install the control unit and wire it up. Your trailer dealer should be able to hook you up.. err no pun intended! lol!