PDA

View Full Version : buying a 60 inch zero turn mower

keithrg
07-21-2004, 02:57 PM
Im new to the business and am looking for imput on a new 60 inch zero turn mower. I have looked at John Deer, EX mark, Scag, Cub Cadet. I have used a Bunton 60 inch cut with 23 Kawasaki motor but it seemed to bog down a bit on hills and heavy grass.

odin
07-21-2004, 03:08 PM
take a look at the toro 555 on up though the 580 series ....these mowers are excellent awsome ...7 gauge steel deck ..adjustable baffles are worth their weight in gold...great mowers i love mine.

chevyman1
07-21-2004, 03:10 PM
look no further than the Dixie Chopper...I have a 27 HP generac with a 60 inch deck that screams fast. I have yet to bog the motor down, it's really good on hills, and mows awesome

txlawnking
07-21-2004, 04:13 PM
Keith, I'd demo all of the machines you mentioned extensivelly on your property before you lay down dollar one. As you can see, 23 isn't enough hp for a 60" mower. I would look for at least a 27hp machine if not more..If it's in your budget, maybe a diesel as well..

Precision
07-21-2004, 04:22 PM
I have a gravely pm 260 that I run doubles on. She works great and can really tear thru the wimp st Augustine we have here and does fairly well even on slightly overgrown Bahia.

The thing is, if you are looking at doing residential work, a 60 may not be the most practical machine. stander 52's that I used in the past are a bit more maneuverable and on small properties they dont take anymore time, they are often faster because the deck isn't as likely to scalp at the over hang edge.

I used JD 52 standers, work good but the electronics are fragile. And we had a difficult time getting generic tires to fit.

Big properties the 60 wins hands down. But either way you will need a 36 or something else small too.

chevyman1
07-21-2004, 04:31 PM