PDA

View Full Version : Can you believe this!!!

Pilgrims' Pride
07-22-2004, 03:10 PM
Got a call from a customer that I have been working for for over three years.
REMEMBER IT IS JULY 22 NOW!
Customer says I never had an agreement with you for this year and I have been using trugreen.
I'm stunned.
Again I've worked for this guy for three years and he has always been a "blank check" kind of customer.
He has been a slow payer from time to time but he always paid.
The man has a hefty balance with me for four visits and he says he doesnt think he owes me anything.

I start in September of every year thanking people for the business for that season and remind them that I will do my best to contact them over winter to discuss the next year.
I do point out that if I do not reach them I do expect to return in the spring unless I'm notified otherwise.

Everyone gets at least two letters like that before the end of the season.
Then they get a renewal letter with prices for the season and a prepay option. Again I remind them that if they don't call I'm coming.

It's JULY now and Mr. Silly Homeowner is calling saying he didnt get a letter and did not know I was coming.

OH MAN!

Hamons
07-22-2004, 03:21 PM
Signed contracts are a good thing in situations like this

TSM
07-22-2004, 04:04 PM
I feel your pain Pilgrim.

This is why we only do one application at a time, What I mean is we do an application, it will be about 6-7 weeks before we're scheduled to be back out....thats plenty of time to sit down and write a check to us. We also send statements out to anyone who has a balance that has reached 30 days...anyone, no matter how well we know them or how long we have serviced them.

Of course there are times when we need to be on property before the 6 weeks, like when we do a lawn app and 2 weeks later need to do a tree/shrub app. But even in these situations, with new customers, we give them a call and ask them to leave a check before we can do the tree app.