PDA

View Full Version : Spreading Topsoil for lawn?

Morley
08-12-2004, 01:10 PM
I just had my front yard torn up by a backhoe because I needed to fix the
grading (slope)
to make the water go away from my house.
I now need to have a dumptruck come over this weekend and drop off a load of
topsoil
so that I can spread it out and prep it for the grass seeds.

I have never done this type of thing before so I am looking for some advice?

This is what I think I should be doing:

1.) Dump truck drops off load of topsoil in front yard.
2.) Take the rake and go to town, spread it evenly so that it is aprox 3-4"
thickness everywhere.

Then I don't know if I need to use a lawn roller to flatten the topsoil
before I lay the grass seeds.
Or do I spread the grass seeds and then use a roller to flatten the soil?
I tried google and didn't really find anything relevant to my questions.
Thanks in advance for any advice :-)

TClawn
08-12-2004, 02:00 PM
I really haven't done any seeding but this is how I've seen people do it.
1. after top soil is spread walk over it with a roller to flatten the ground. 2. lay down seed and rake it in (make sure it's not raked any deeper than 1/4 inch.) 3. water the seed in.

NickN
08-12-2004, 02:05 PM
Use the roller to firm up your seed base.Then after spreading your seed,go back over the soil with the roller to push the seed down.You won't need as much weight in the roller for pushing in the seed.Cover your seed bed with straw and check it in two weeks for any sprouts of grass.Of course,water,water,water.

T Edwards
08-12-2004, 04:27 PM
Slip the truck driver a 20 and he will shake the bed all over the yard instead of dumping 1 big pile. You'll be glad you did.

Geoffrey
08-12-2004, 04:36 PM
I second that, T Edwards is speaking or in this case writing the truth!

txlawnking
08-12-2004, 04:36 PM
Fer sure^^^^ If your lawn is big enough to warrant it, you might consider renting a tractor with a box blade to spread the dirt...Raking sux...

CapnDean