PDA

View Full Version : Volunteer Firemen

BMFD92
08-13-2004, 10:00 AM
This thread is for all the fine volunteer firemen in the landscape industry. When there is a call and you are doing a lawn what do you do? I had a call the other day and I left my worker to finish up two lawns and I took the truck to the firehouse. I was gone for an hour and my worker was sitting for 20 minutes. Has this ever happened to you guys? What do you guys do when the call comes in?

grass_cuttin_fool
08-13-2004, 10:07 AM
Im a solo operator and Im a vol ff/emt. If it is a call that needs alot of manpower I load up and go. If its a minor car accident and im 15 miles away then its no need for me to try and go. If I am working in the area I usually try to go.

NNJLandman
08-13-2004, 10:29 AM
I try to get there no matter what, all my lawns are close to the town I live in, its a pretty small town, but when theres a call and I can Ill get there. Last night we had a power outage and we were out on the highway directing traffic.

Jeff

NC Scaper
08-13-2004, 12:44 PM
I do the same as grass cuttin fool, Its gotta be big before I load the rig

jt5019
08-13-2004, 02:28 PM
If im in the middle of the job, i will finish before i head to the station.Medicals and accidents theres always enough people around that its no big deal if i miss it.If theres a fire i will explain to the customer why i have to leave (if there home) and ill come back to finish in a few hours.. 99% of they time they totally understand.

Itsgottobegreen
08-13-2004, 03:00 PM
Well if the trailer is loaded up and I am on the road then yes. Otherwise its has to be something worth while. I live 3.5 miles from the station and most of my accounts are farther away than that. We have several member with landscaping business. So on more than one occation we have had 4 trucks and trailers in the parking lot.