PDA

View Full Version : Dump body kit

Liberty Lawncare
08-21-2004, 11:28 PM
I am interested in getting a kit from northern tool catalogue. The kit will be for my 3/4 ton HD gmc 4x4. This kit uses your existing truck bed into a dump bed. Load capacity of the kit is 4000 lbs. The cost is $869.
Does anybody have one of these kits?
I would appricate any info on this kit. I am tired of unloading stuff by hand. With fall coming and all those leaves:eek:

bnrhuffman
08-22-2004, 09:52 PM
I have no personal experience with them but I will say that I wouldnt want one. You must raise the bed to put fuel in on the ones Ive seen. God forbid you have to fuel up with a load of mulch, trash, dirt, whatever. You would just have to dump it right at the pumps. Maybe that wont bother you but it would me.

LLandscaping
08-22-2004, 11:38 PM
I would look at a dump insert, because the factory truck beds are not made to hold up to the abuse of putting a lift under it.
www.ezdumper.com

BSDeality
08-23-2004, 01:46 AM
i've heard that those kits will twist a stock bed unless you strengthen them.

Liberty Lawncare
08-23-2004, 09:51 AM
Originally posted by BSDeality
i've heard that those kits will twist a stock bed unless you strengthen them.
I also have heard this. But if The bed is reinforced and its not overloaded it may be ok. The inserts are about 800 lbs. That is alot of weight to have on the truck all the time. 800 lbs = more gass use IMO.
I wish I knew someone who has one.:confused:

bligh61
08-28-2004, 10:22 AM
i have a truck craft aluminum dump insert. best purcase i ever made. i can change trucks and switch the bed.

kc2006
08-29-2004, 12:44 AM