PDA

View Full Version : RoundUp in Mulch Beds

Husky03
08-23-2004, 06:27 PM
I have aquired my first account where the lady wants me to weed her mulch beds every other week. They are 2 very large beds and it would not be effective for me to pick all of the weeds every other week. Is it safe for me to use RoundUp in the mulch beds? The beds have flowers and plants in them. Will it harm the other plants root systems? Is there something else that would work better? Am I supposed to have a chemical liscense before applying this? Please tell me anything you think I will need to know. This is my first time using any type of chemical.

Thanks...:)

i_plant_art
08-23-2004, 06:46 PM
round up is fine for the areas where there are not any other plants around also watch for over spray on windy days... if the mist gets on any of the other plants it will harm if not kills them.... also do not do not do not mix it stronger than it says on the bottle.........

another chemical you can get is Fusalade or Fusalade II it works to kills grasses and some weeds. also Lesco Gran is a good one to use too to control broadleaf weeds in beds ... both of these can be mixed together as specified on the bottle... they work good together........

i use the aboe listed Round-up Pro as well as the Fusalade II and Lesco Gran mix. keep seperate sprayers ... one for the round up and one for the fusalade mix... these things can be purchased from you local Lesco (http://lesco.com) or John Deere Landscapes ( http://johndeerelandscapes.com ) i think lesco gran is only available at lesco though