PDA

View Full Version : clean up jobs? what are they worth and are they worth it?

slikrick
08-27-2004, 09:47 AM
I'm just starting out and all i have been doing for the past month is clean ups and a out of those ive been able to get 2 lawns to cut. now ive been pretty much weeeding mulch beds and laying new mulch which the customers payed for. but it doesnt seem to be a residual income job so ive been charging anywhere from $30 to $35 an hour for the job. do you guys think this is too high or to low or am i going about this in the wrong way? how do you all quote a job like that? i usually look at the job and estimate how long it will take me and then i quote it,,,,, been burned a few times on my time but i guess this is my learning curve.
thanks

Mark McC
08-27-2004, 10:01 AM
Yeah, it is a learning process. One of the things one must take into account is the condition of the soil. If there are a lot of rocks or if the soil is just plain hard, it'll take a lot more time to deal with weeds and so on.

Depending on where you are in Florida, you may be able to demand more than $35 an hour. It's good that you don't tell your customers your hourly rate, but see if you can't nudge it up to $40. By the way, a lot of outfits get $60 per yard of mulch installed.

Mark

slikrick
08-27-2004, 11:01 AM
its a mulch bed and its just dirt under it.... i ripped a few up to see how it would come up and it seems to be pretty easy.... its a hugh bed though.... wraps around the whole back and sides of the house. now ive estimated it to take me atleast 15 hours, at say $35 is $525.00 .... to pull weeds? seems high to me but like i said im new to this so? however they do live on the water and i know they have money, i think anything higher than $35 would limit my chances of picking up the job.... bottom line, i need the work..... any more ideas or suggestions i should think of or do?

AuburnGuy
08-27-2004, 12:37 PM