PDA

View Full Version : Questions for Solo Operators

wagner17
08-31-2004, 08:19 PM
Looking at starting up a lawn care business in Cincinnati, Ohio next year. I've been a teacher for 8 years for Severe Emotionally Disturbed children. I have summer experience, but want to go at it on my own.

My questions are, how many accounts do those of you who work alone have? Also, how much money are you making annually if you don't mind me asking? Not as worried about the money as my wife has a fantastic career and after being Mr. Mom and a teacher for 8 years has given me her blessing. I plan on offering mowing, trimming, blowing, seeding, fertilizing, and possibly aeration. Please let me know what you think.

dvmcmrhp52
08-31-2004, 08:47 PM
You won't make as much money as being a teacher and you will work MUCH harder.
Fertilizing will require licensing and training.
You'll want at least 40 accounts that pay market rate to go full time, solo, or the sleep you lose will get you to wishing you were back behind a desk.
I'm not trying to rain on your parade, I'm just trying to be realistic.

wagner17
08-31-2004, 09:05 PM
I figured 40 as well. The money is not too much of an issue. I figure that I will make less than what I currently make, but there are many more reasons why I want to do it. To be honest, I have 2 masters degrees, make $50,000 a year and am just not happy with what I am doing. I have always been happiest just mowing lawns as crazy as that sounds to some. I have run the figures and come out making about $35,000 after expenses. It is a paycut, but it honestly makes me happy. Money isn't everything. I do appreciate your realism, these are the type of answers I am looking for.

Thanks!

Yard Perfect
08-31-2004, 09:11 PM
I work by myself and one other and make about twice what a teacher would make. Hard work, but no weekends, get to work outside, if my customers are not nice, I find new ones - try that with a student.

1MajorTom
08-31-2004, 09:12 PM