PDA

View Full Version : Getting Commercial Accounts

drsogr
09-22-2004, 06:59 PM
I am fairly new to the business, and I am wanting to get some commercial accounts. How do I go about this? Do I send out letters asking to be part of the bidding process? When would I send these out? I would be greatful for any help possible. I am looking for more inpersonal methods, as I work full-time currently and do not have the time to introduce myself personally.

Thanks,
Derek

kc2006
09-22-2004, 11:59 PM
Good question, i too have been wondering about the same thing.

jerryrwm
09-23-2004, 02:15 AM
Depending on what type of commercial work you are looking for.

If it's government type, then check the newspaper and the Builder's Exchange for current RFP/RFB (Request for proposal/bid) They are also posted in courthouses, etc.

If it is any other type of properties, you might need to make time and pound the pavement, knock some doors, and press some flesh. Property managers, maintenance directors and others in the position of authority have a tendency to like seeing a smiling face before doing business with them. A relationship of some kind has a tendency to open the door. I once had an Apartment manager that it took nearly two years of just stopping in to say hi whenever I was in the area. Usually to see my golfing buddy, but I always stopped in the Manager's office for a few minutes. One day I was asked to give a price to replace a controller, and got the job. Now do all of the irrigation work for three apartment complexes that they manage. Just have to be in their face.

If you are serious about the commercial work, you may need to take some time off from the full-time job and spend it on the part-time one.

Just my take

Jerry

LwnmwrMan22
09-23-2004, 07:31 AM