PDA

View Full Version : Trying to get started

jerome
09-22-2004, 10:10 PM
I have been lurking for a while in this forum trying to learn all I can about the business and have read it from the beginning to the end. I have notice a lot of you have a lot of expensive equipment and wanted to know how did you get financing? How did you get started? I am looking to get in on the small jobs at first like construction site clean up ,clearing undergrowth etc. Are there any other forums like this if so I would like the links if it's not against Lawnsite rules.Thanks

Tigerotor77W
09-22-2004, 11:54 PM
I would love to try to help but I'm still a student. So from someone who is limited financially, the best of luck.

Scag48
09-23-2004, 02:15 AM
Sounds like you're a candidate for a lease program. As long as you can commit for darn near 5 years, you'll be okay. LOL. That's a really long time to commit a piece, I would honestly buy something used at first or just rent for a while until you have the funds to throw into equipment and have an established business with some good cash flow. The joke is that you can buy a relatively nice skid steer for around 11K and that would only take about 500 hours of competitive pricing to score a profit on that investment. The maintenance is relatively cheap and we charge $70 an hour for our skid. Guys around here in the excavation biz are charging $85 an hour for a small dozer that is more than 4 times the cost of a skid steer. Skids are money making machines. We figure that in the lifetime of our machine, about 2,000 hours, we could net profit $130,000. Do the math.

ksss
09-23-2004, 02:21 AM