PDA

View Full Version : Tax question for the solo guys/gals

Outsiders Lawn Artists
10-05-2004, 06:09 PM
i'm very new to the lawn care industry. i have just started my own co. and I was wondering what it the best way to do my taxes? I know that sound a little broad, does everyone file quarterly or cash only or 1040, ect. What is to stop everyone who starts out from not claiming immediate income, or just wait? Thanks

PLM-1
10-05-2004, 10:02 PM
I'm wondering the same thing...help us out guys!

eruuska
10-05-2004, 10:15 PM
I AM NOT AN ACCOUNTANT. FOR OFFICIAL INFORMATION, PLEASE TALK TO AN ACCOUNTANT.

That being said, I don't believe there is any requirement to file quarterly. Just set x% aside in a separate account. You'll need to set aside about 15% for the self-employment tax. Depending on what state you're in, you'll need to set some aside for state income tax. And a certain percentage needs to be set aside for federal income tax. That depends on what bracket you're in.
If you know anyone who does payroll, they'll be able to get you in the right ball park.

And when it comes time to do your taxes, get them done as early as possible. That way, if you get bad news about what you owe, you've got a couple of months to get the money together. Or flee to Mexico. Whichever you choose. (Is it true that LCO's in Mexico will hire illegal Americans?)

But the best advice it to talk to an accountant.

Hope this helps,
Eric

HOOLIE
10-06-2004, 12:35 AM
You are supposed to pay quarterly for federal taxes. I believe the rule is, if you expect to owe more than $1000 for the year (don't quote me on that number), they want you to pay quarterly. Payments are due Jan 15, April 15, June 15 and Sept 15. The IRS will send you the payment vouchers or you can download them (or hire an accountant)