PDA

View Full Version : Door hangers - LCO code of ethics

Little o
10-13-2004, 04:10 PM
Hey guys,

Newbie here again, looking at ways to get some clients this spring.

There is a brand new development in the area, one of those planned communities with the ballfields and community parks. Oldest house in the community is probably 5 years and they're constantly knocking down trees for more. Just driving by I've seen other LCO's servicing people in the community.

Doorhangers seems to me to be an effective form of getting the word out, without having to knock on doors and bothering people. The owners can just grab the doorhanger, keep it for future reference, call it, or roundfile the sucker.

Question is, using the LCO code of ethics, not knowing which people have existing LCO contracts, am I in violation with you guys to just doorhang everyone form "A" st. to "Z" st.. No pricing will be displayed, just the services offered and a contact number.

My gut instinct is that its a relatively free market economy, and as long as I don't advertise prices, the owner can just rouldfile the hanger if he/she is happy with their current service.

Thanks, guys

Doug

MMLawn
10-13-2004, 04:20 PM
Door hangers are fine and most all of us use them in some form or another and you are on the right track. I think what just gets other LCO's (including me) is when "lowballers" know that you are cutting xyz lawn and try and steal it from you with a lower price, etc. Door hangers/mailers that is a whole different game as you don't really know who does and who doesn't use an LCO or even which one. If the LCO is giving a fair price (and you do also) they should still be okay if their service is at the level it should be.

So go for it.

Liberty Lawncare
10-13-2004, 04:34 PM