PDA

View Full Version : Crew size???

stexasrookie
10-16-2004, 05:51 PM
I am extremely new to lawn maintenance, although ran a tree trimming business for some family for the past two years. My question is how does one justify running a four man crew when you can only expect to see $30 or so from the yard. I work in a smaller city of around 75k people and stay pretty busy, but when you have to pay your guys 10 minutes between each job at atleast $6 an hour thats only $6 an hour in profit. I know you can get jobs done faster in theory, but how do you justify the drive time or work around it? Any help is appreciated.

mow2nd
10-16-2004, 06:19 PM
2 guys can mow 3 yards an hour x 8 hour day = 24 yards. Now figure how much you will profit

Turfdude
10-16-2004, 08:49 PM
For $30 laws, crew size shoulkd only be 2 guys. Unless your lawns exceed 1/2 acre w/ multiple lawns at a stop, there is no need for larger than a 2 man crew.

bushtrimmer
10-16-2004, 08:56 PM
4 guys work great for 10 acres or more and for commercial properties as long as you have a crew cab

JustMowIt
10-16-2004, 09:15 PM
I am extremely new to lawn maintenance, although ran a tree trimming business for some family for the past two years. My question is how does one justify running a four man crew when you can only expect to see $30 or so from the yard. I work in a smaller city of around 75k people and stay pretty busy, but when you have to pay your guys 10 minutes between each job at atleast $6 an hour thats only $6 an hour in profit. I know you can get jobs done faster in theory, but how do you justify the drive time or work around it? Any help is appreciated.