PDA

View Full Version : Rain Rain Go Away!

Dodgemania
11-04-2004, 11:10 AM
My main source of income is running my skidloader. Back a couple months ago, for 40 days we didn't get any rain, and now all of a sudden Oct was our wettest month in history and have already got a couple inches of rain in Nov. I've got ads that just came out in the yellow pages, and I was getting calls but now I'm not. I do finish grades, backfills, cut out driveways and what ever else I can get my hands on. Is the weather my maine problem for not getting calls or is it that time of year where thinks an the light excavation buisness slow down? This is my first year full-time and was unable to get with any builders to keep me working all year. I've got a buddy that does the same thing and he's in with a couple builders doing rough and finish grades, and the builder wants him there whether it rains snows or the sun is out. He's been doing it longer too! I guess my main question is is all of this rain scaring people from calling or is it just that time of year when things slow down? If it don't pickup soon I'll be forced to get a part-time job. I want to run the skidloader in the nastiest months coming up but it doesn't look feasible.

Scag48
11-07-2004, 01:40 AM
I wouldn't say that the lack of business is due to weather entirely, because I've got a job to do in the next couple days and here we have about 3 inches of frozen ground already. The business can be tough to get into. As you mentioned, knowing a builder or someone that needs a skid steer on a regular basis is someone that you definately need to become friends with. Stick with it, business will pick up.

ksss
11-07-2004, 07:56 PM