PDA

View Full Version : PLEASE help with advice on Equipment for startup

tejas241
11-08-2004, 01:37 PM
Hello all, and thanks for taking your time to help!!!
I am a newbie and need some advice: I am semi-retired from offshore construction(commercial diver) and have been in an office for a couple years. Everyday the walls close in about 3", and i am miserable, I like to work outside with my hands. I have been envying you guys and have decided to take the plunge...
Went down to my Lexmark dealer who is also Kubota to price ZTRs and am now confused ! His question was whether i intended on doing lawncare OR landscaping , where I thought most LANDSCAPERS did both or at least were somewhat one and the same.
I can only afford one major piece of equipment. His opinion/advice seemed to be that if I wanted to do lawncare only, then he would get a ZTR. But if I wanted to offer the broader spectrum of actual landscape services then he would go with a Kubota 7800 compact utility tractor, cutting deck, and a couple implements. Then use my JD riding mower on small lawns.

As experienced professionals what do you guys think? Have any of you made that decision? With that kind of money I cannot afford a mistake! :dizzy:

TClawn
11-08-2004, 02:05 PM
unless your name is well known in the city your starting in I would NOT start up a pure landscaping business as my sole income. their just wouldn't be enough work (and $$$) to start out with and still pay your bills.

the lawncare business, I think, would be the best way for you to start out mainly because work is easier to find than landscaping and the income is more regular.
now I'm not saying that you shouldn't get in to the landscaping business, it just that it will be harder than if you got your name established in lawncare first.

that said, I would buy the kubota 7800. it leaves you room to expand into the landscaping business without having to buy another big piece of equipment.