PDA

View Full Version : How about my age?

morningstar
11-11-2004, 03:33 PM
I have been a county agent for the past 13 years and was a vo-ag teacher 10 years before that. I've spent my career advising others what to do to have healthy lawns and landscapes and when I retire I plan to start my own lanw/landscape business. My question is: I will retire when I'm 57 - can I physically start this type of work? Are there any of you out there that are in this situation? I'm in good health, reasonably good shape (need to loose a few pounds) However , the county agent work is not exactly a heart pounding occupation.

PLM-1
11-11-2004, 03:47 PM
not sure how much this will help but my dad is 50 and helps me when i need it. He doesn't do it everyday. He is in pretty good shape rides his bike 35 miles a day. He works pretty hard when he helps me and he seems to handle it pretty well. IMO if you do it all the time it's easier and you know what to expect throughout the day. So i guess he doesn't really good......

Green-Pro
11-11-2004, 04:08 PM
Morningstar,

Hi, I will be forty next June, I plan to start up early next spring.

Question: Do I feel Forty? Nope not a bit.

I worked in a factory for fifteen years and now the past six in an office. I like to pheasant and deer hunt, do outdoors type work, and lift weights, my wife says I go at things like I'm killing snakes. I have always been active and probably always will, but enough about that.

How old do you feel? Joplin's Dad sounds like an active person, mine on the other hand just turned sixty-three and acts eighty-three(sorry Dad!!) Wise person it was that said you are only as old as you feel.
:waving:

G-P

lottlawncare
11-11-2004, 04:40 PM
Can you still get it up? If yes,,,then you are not too old. If no...then I'd advise against it. It's all in the hips...it's all..in...the...hips...

joeg2246
11-11-2004, 05:26 PM