PDA

View Full Version : f150 4.6 V8 oil leak

stevesmowing
11-15-2004, 06:25 PM
I have oil leaking from the engine I can't tell if it is from the intake manifold or the head gasket. Anyone else ever have a problem like this? How hard is the head gasket to change? I know it will take a while. I have never done anything like this before but wouln't mind doing it if I can.

bugspit
11-15-2004, 06:56 PM
sure it's not a valve cover gasket leaking?

stevesmowing
11-15-2004, 07:35 PM
It didn't seem real wet around it.

Eric 1
11-15-2004, 08:36 PM
Maybe check the timing cover seal and gasket. I doubt it would be the intake.

Is the oil coming from the top or bottom front or back part of the engine.

P.S. A head gasket is not a good place to start into mechanics without some experienced help. Especially on an engine with overhead cam, if you do not set it back in perfect timing or dont toque the rockers and head bolts just right it will never run right again. I know, i have done lots. It is my hobby.

stevesmowing
11-16-2004, 09:38 AM
the oil is leaking from the passanger side on the back of the engine. It doesn't seem to be leaking up by the valve cover. I had someone take a look at it and they thought it was the head gasket. I have to see if he would be willing to help me change it or not. The labor time on it I saw was 10 hours.

bugspit
11-16-2004, 09:53 AM
it's a long shot but, have you talked to the dealer concerning any recalls?

BTW, what's the age and mileage on this truck?

stevesmowing
11-16-2004, 07:38 PM
1997 f150 2wd 95,000 miles. I am the second owner of the truck. Was there a recall on this?

xcopterdoc
11-16-2004, 08:09 PM