PDA

View Full Version : Bidding against trugreen

stimpy
11-19-2004, 09:11 PM
The subdivision I live in has some common areas. tennis court, pool, little islands that tru green takes care of. They are doing a pretty bad job. brown spots big bare areas. I am not a LCO I am a carpenter but I will be buying some commercial equipment this winter for rentals and foreclosers I handle. I was thinking about bidding on these areas. Before I go to the homeowners a.s.o I would like to here your opinions on if its worth it and how to go about it. I will be set up as a legal business already for the foreclosures. Thanks to all the pros on this site. It has been a big help in my equipment choices.

MudslinginFX4
11-19-2004, 09:14 PM
You will have to also get a special license to be able to spray and use chemicals. It will be hard to underbid tru green. Try doing a search on this topic, or type in "tru green" into the search bar and it will pull up tons of information to your questions! Welcome to the site.

wagner17
11-19-2004, 09:32 PM
I wish you all of the luck, but unfortunately unless you can convince the homeowner's association that TruGreen does a shoddy job, you will have a difficult time underbidding them. They can afford to give a lowball offer, where you may not be able to. I would simply give a realistic bid and spin the poor quality that TruGreen offers. Just do not sell yourself short or you will regret it in the long run.

tiedeman
11-19-2004, 11:54 PM
welcome to the site stimpy. My best advice would be to do some searching on applications and tru-green to find out more.

YardPro
11-20-2004, 07:58 PM
DON"T DO IT
first if you under bid tru green you'll go bankrupt.

they are the wal mart of the green industry.

next, NEVER take on a large gob that requires a good amount of knowledge about a profession with no experience.

it's like a landscaper trying to start a business by bidding on building on a house.