PDA

View Full Version : Scag Turf Tiger Fault and Should ZTR’s cut long thick grass.

aussiegreg
12-06-2004, 05:24 AM
G’day
I am a mowing contractor in Australia and I have bought the 2nd hand mower from hell. I have already had to replace a cutter deck gearbox and the latest is that the 30hour old cutter deck gearbox (it’s a driveshaft from motor to cutter deck and this gearbox transfers driveshaft power to the belts on the cutter deck) has a leak from the seal. The reason for this leak is that even though there is a grass shield on the seal grass has found its way past and into the seal which has caused the leak.

Question:
How long is too long for a ZTR to cut, my deck can be raised to about 6 ˝ inches for slashing. Scag are saying that the problem is that long cut grass is wrapped around the driveshaft if I reverse back over cut grass i.e. the windrow. This grass then forces its way back into the seal and ruptures it. They say that a ZTR being Zero turn should not be run backwards whilst cutting but turned around and cut in forward mode. A fair comment but nothing is said in the manual about this. So it seems that I have to pay for a new gearbox ($800 + labour)and now new seals ($?? + labour) before I learn this lesson.

How long is too long??

Is this seal problem a known problem??

stuie
12-06-2004, 05:37 AM
Hey Greg
Get in touch with Russ.Easycareacres....... He is on this site he runs scags in QLD and knows a hell of a lot about them and im sure he will point you in the right direction.
STUART

Travis Followell
12-06-2004, 05:45 AM
We don't pay any attention how tall the grass is that we mow. If there's a area we need to mow thats growed up then we use our Woods and JD mowers like bushogs and the JD has a gearbox with a shaft driven deck and we havn't has any problems with grass wrapping around the shaft.

aussiegreg
12-06-2004, 05:53 AM
BTW the grass was 1 to 1 1/2 foot high and green but dry kikuyu

Mickhippy
12-06-2004, 07:30 AM
G'day Greg!