PDA

View Full Version : What's Better?

jtrice11
12-08-2004, 11:11 AM
I'm just starting out. I live near Minneapolis Minnesota and have narrowed down my choices for buying equipment. I am debating on wether to go with a eXmark Laser Z (27hp Kohler), Toro Z (27hp Kohler) or Kubota Diesel. Which brand do you guys think is the better value??

I also am thinking pretty seriously about going with STIHL brand blowers and trimmers.

Mo Green
12-08-2004, 11:59 AM
how many, and what kind of accounts do you have?

out4now
12-08-2004, 12:04 PM
Just looked and the exmark has a diahatsu. Don't know anything about their small engines. Kubota and Yanmar make good small diesels. If you decide to go with diesel I'd look at the Kubota. Gas engine, probably the exmark with a Kawi.

JCW-G
12-08-2004, 12:14 PM
jtrice11,
Since you are asking which of the three is a better value, we would need to know the prices of each. If the three are your only choices, I would go with the kubota. Plus include the answer to the question posted by Mo Green.

jtrice11
12-08-2004, 12:55 PM
We have 1 commercial account that is 50 townhouses, a property developer with 4 small office buildings, and a small handful (less than 5) residential accounts. We plan to get as many additional accounts as possible.

The toro guy tells me the toro is a better unit than the eXmark, and he has one that is 800 dollars cheaper. The Kubota is about 2 grand more than both.

JCW-G
12-08-2004, 01:23 PM
Well sure the toro guy is going to "talk up" his product, he needs to make money just like everybody else.If you talk to an exmark guy he would do the same for his product,and so on. There is a reason mowers cost more or less than the competition, it is quality. Just remember you get what you pay for. Good Luck

JCW-G
12-08-2004, 01:24 PM
[QUOTE=JCW-G]jtrice11,
Since you are asking which of the three is a better value, we would need to know the prices of each.

rgjlawn
12-08-2004, 02:06 PM