PDA

View Full Version : Where to blow?

flasooner
12-10-2004, 12:20 PM
I am just getting started out in the business and have a had a couple of discussions about where to blow pack after mowing. One guys says he blows into the street and another said that is not good business and if it is just a little he blows back into the grass and if it is a big mess he may pick some of it up and blow the rest into the yard. I am not oppossed to the extra work of picking it up, but I also want to be smart about my time and efficiency as well. Please give any advice you have for a new guy. Thanks.

Sir mowsalot
12-10-2004, 12:31 PM
When in doubt, blow the clippings in the neighbors yard, they love that. lol

o-so-n-so
12-10-2004, 12:32 PM
This is my opinion.

Never leave grass on any hard surface including roadways. If you are having that much grass after cutting, maybe cut more often.(mow weekly if possible)

I have a few accounts that have excessive clippings but I always discharge to the inside around any obstacles or hard surface and then just make a couple of passes to dissipate the clippings.

Curb appeal is what you want.....can't achieve that with clippings in the road.

mbricker
12-10-2004, 12:32 PM
You've got to make the decision based on what is accepted in your area, not my part of the country or someone else's.

Here in NW Arkansas, a mark of a redneck scrub is blowing the clippings into the street. There is no city pickup along the streets. Some cities that other lco's work in, the city routinely comes by to vac up the leaves or clippings that are blown out from the yard over the curb.