PDA

View Full Version : Edger????

ashs inc
12-22-2004, 08:06 PM
I am looking for a new edger. I love the idea of the straight shaft of the stihl. But do i get the FC 85 or the FC 110? I dont know which is better? The 110 is 50 bucks more. Is it worth it?

THANKS

DUKE

Lazer_Z
12-22-2004, 08:10 PM
Duke,I was in the same boat as you over the summer. I looked at just about every stick edger out and finally after much research bought the FC110 and it was worth every penny. It is a powerful machine to say the least.

What other models have you been looking at besides STIHL?

Lawnchoice
12-22-2004, 08:12 PM
Quick question not to get off the thread topic though !

Have you guys tried using a trimmer backwards to maintain the edge? This is what I have been doing for over ten years now and it works great. Obviously you need a nice cut edge in the spring that you can keep up throughout the season. This is provided by a Turfco Edge-R-Rite.

Do you think the stick edger is quicker than my method????

ashs inc
12-22-2004, 08:26 PM
I have looked at every edger out there. I love Echo equipment. But they feel like they have gotten weaker the new and more emission control is involved. I also like Red Max. I dont have a dealer close to me. I have a shindaiwa eb 600 blower that went in a pool with an employee this summer. I drained it and it cranked right up. SO i like all kinds i have a 7 year old Stihl fc 85 trimmer that i love. So i was going to move to stihl edger because of the straight shaft and the open edger blade! NO mud getting caught in the blade housing. Just didnt know if the 110 was worth the extra money or will the 85 do the trick. It feels lighter!

DUKE

splatz100
12-22-2004, 08:39 PM
how much does the 85 cost??

Lazer_Z
12-22-2004, 08:40 PM
Quick question not to get off the thread topic though !