PDA

View Full Version : Is gear drive on a wb really that bad?

Hadly
12-27-2004, 07:02 PM
I am looking at Deere GS 30 walk behind gear drive. I am just starting out and can get the unit for a good price. Should I steer clear?

ludwiglawncare
12-27-2004, 07:04 PM
Just starting out it will still be a great time saver to use a commercial peace of equipment, granted hydro is much better, just keep some belt dressing handy for early or wet days, good luck!

PR Fect
12-27-2004, 07:07 PM
Yes, watch out when you back up on a slope!

all degree
12-27-2004, 07:14 PM
No gear drive is fine, but hydro is better. Lots of advantages to a hydro but you wont really miss them if you never had one. The major advantage is you can really utilize a sulky with a hydro. Turning with one on a belt drive is next to impossible with out doing damage to the turf.

grass_cuttin_fool
12-27-2004, 07:16 PM
All I ever had were gear drives and I made out ok. If your yards are very hilly then that is when the problems start, but for the most part gear drives are ok

CharlieBingo
12-27-2004, 07:18 PM
Compared to a hydro they are awful! IMO!

Turfdude
12-27-2004, 07:18 PM
We have 7 wb's 32-52 - none are hydro. If you know how to operate them, you'll be fine

Rhett
12-27-2004, 07:22 PM
Get the belt drive. Preferably a small one. When you have enough work to warrant a bigger one go for the hydro.

Fareway Lawncare
12-27-2004, 07:27 PM
Yes...Very Very Bad.

No one will touch the Toro 32"...36" Belts now that I have Hydros in the Stable.

There is a Huge yes Huge difference in Time & Labor Saving.

work_it
12-27-2004, 07:30 PM