PDA

View Full Version : Slitseeder?

way to grow
12-29-2004, 12:54 PM
I am interested in buying a slit seeder. I have done a lot of research and I think the lesco lawn renovator would be the way to go. Up until now I have been a fertilzing company. We now have about 1000 clients and hope to add another 500 this coming year. I think we could sell a lot of people on slit seeding as it will improve their lawn in a hurry - right? I have zero experience with slit seeding and I just wanted to ask a few questions about it:

1. How long does it take to do the average 5000 sq ft lawn?
2. Is it necessary to do 2 passes from different directions?
3. Is 8 # of seed per 1000 good? Could I use less/more? I guess it depends on how sparse the existing grass is?
4. What kind of maintenance do these machines need?
5. What kind of waterng schedule do the seeds need to grow successfully?
6. What else do you put down with the seed? Starter fertilizer?
7. Is 4 to 5 cents per square foot a fair price?

Thanks for all your help. If their is anything else I should know, please share your wisdom with us.

James Cormier
12-29-2004, 01:50 PM
I own the lesco renovator, and love it, I do think the ryan mataway does a better job, but not 2grand better.

1. How long does it take to do the average 5000 sq ft lawn?

I believe the machine is 22" wide and goes as fast as you can walk, so its kinda like using a 21" push mower, so a 5k lawn would take 20 min or so.

2. Is it necessary to do 2 passes from different directions?

No, one is fine,

3. Is 8 # of seed per 1000 good? Could I use less/more? I guess it depends on how sparse the existing grass is?

8lbs seems heavy for overseeding, good for complete reno

4. What kind of maintenance do these machines need?

Normal belts and Oil, changing blades sucks, very time consuming, You can turn them over once, then you need to replace them, heavy use I replace them in winter, and switch them once thru the year.