PDA

View Full Version : help re:walk behind,services,ads, contracts

LAWN-BOYZ
12-29-2004, 07:43 PM
Hello everyone, this site is amazing!

I would like to introduce myself, my name is Mark, I am an 18 year old student and I have been in this business for three years now. I have some very ambitious plans for next year :blob2: . I have been doing my research, but was wondering if you guys could help me with your words of wisdom?

I presently have 10 lawns and would like to bring that number up to 50 next year. I do a quality job and I know I could look after 50 clients. Presently, i own all commercial grade equipt: 2 trimmers, a Lawn-Boy, a Stihl backpack blower, an old John Deer edger, ohh and almost forgot, a smoothly running 1990 Ford F-150. What additional equipment should I have to handle 50 customers?

1)I want to get a bigger mower for about $2 000 -$3 000. I have relatively no understanding of the pro's and cons of each mower, but I have been on this forum for about 5 hours learning. LAWN-BOYZ specializes in cutting small to medium size properties so I am concerned about the width of the deck with respect to gate clearance- I am thinking of getting a walk behind. So the question is, what machines would be ideal for me? I am doing a lot of research so I will probably buy a used machine to get a better bang for my buck.

2)Because I am such a small guy I am thinking of staying away from fertilizing, I have never done it and am kind of scared of doing it because i donít have any insurance. I want LAWN-BOYZ to stick to its core competency and that is strictly maintenance. I was wondering if you guys think that customers will accept this, why should they hire me and a separate company when they can get one company to take care of all of their needs?
Should I partner with another company? should I start to sub out fertilizing, spraying and landscaping- is it worth it?