PDA

View Full Version : Comment / Criticism... Just dont hurt me too bad

ProSvcs
01-03-2005, 12:18 AM
I have been doing this part time for approximately 5 years while working what everyone around me calls a "real job". I WAS working as a computer consultant making extremely good money. I did not do lawncare last year because I was traveling alot. Anywho.. I quit my job last month due to some unresolvable issues with the client. Soooo, I have decided to go full time with the lawncare. I would like others opinions that have been in the business awhile.

This is the plan....

Advertising
I plan on getting the truck lettered, and making signs to put in front of local developments where I would like to work. (I just bought a vinyl cutter to make all of my own signs).

ADs in the local paper

Fliers / Doorhangers (Start Door to Door in early Feb depending on weather)

I am in the process of finding out about cable advertising as well.

Equipment
I already own the following:
32' enclosed trailer
Kubota GF1800 Front Mount Mower with 60" deck (1200 hrs)
Echo Trimmer
Echo Blower
Roller
Spreaders (Drop & Broadcast)
Wheelbarrows / Rakes / Shovels
Gas Edgers (2)
Truck Craft Dump Insert
Meyer's 7.5 w/ Pro Wings
Buyers V Box Salter

I am still making payment's on
2001 Dodge Ram 2500 Diesel

Licenses
I already have Pro Services LLC registered
I will get the local licenses as spring approaches

Insurance's
I have already obtained the Business Liability
I still need to get the commercial liability for truck

Employee's
My daughter will be 18 this year and can run mowers, skid steer, backhoe with the best of them.

Younger Daughter (15)

Son (15)

I am also planning on purchasing another Kubota ZD21 w/52" deck

I have figured that I will need approx 70 customers in order to meet expenses including my salary and payroll (Less if I can get the type of customers that I like.)